THE ALLEN SACK NATIONAL SYMPOSIUM:
ADVANCING INTEGRITY IN COLLEGE SPORT
Washington, D.C. – The National Press Club
AWARDS LUNCHEON BIOGRAPHIES
"A Vision for the Promise of College Athletics"
Thursday, May 19, 2022 – 1:30-2:00pm ET



ANDREW ZIMBALIST, HOST, President-Elect, The Drake Group. Dr. Zimbalist is the Robert A. Woods Professor of Economics, Smith College. He has published several dozen articles and twenty-seven books, including *Unpaid Professionals: Commercialism and Conflict in Big-time College Sports* (1999), *The Economics of Sport, I & II* (2001), *Unwinding Madness: What Went Wrong with College Sports and How to Fix It* (2017) with Gerry Gurney and Donna Lopiano, and *Whither College Sports* (2021). Zimbalist has consulted in Latin America for the United Nations Development Program, the U.S. Agency for International Development and numerous companies and in the sports industry for players' associations, cities, companies, citizens groups, teams and leagues.



THE HONORABLE ROSA DeLAURO, Congresswoman from Connecticut's Third Congressional District is Chair of the House Appropriations Committee, sits on the Democratic Steering and Policy Committee, and she is the Chair of the Labor, Health and Human Services, and Education Appropriations Subcommittee, where she oversees our nation's investments in education, health, and employment. She believes that our first priority must be to strengthen the economy and create good middle class jobs. She supports tax cuts for working- and middle-class families, fought to expand the Child Tax Credit to provide tax relief to millions of families, and introduced the Young Child Tax Credit to give families with young children an economic lift. Allen Sack, is her constituent.



ALLEN SACK, Co-Founder, Past President and Director Emeritus of The Drake Group. Professor Emeritus in the College of Business at the University of New Haven where he taught for forty-one years, the former Director of the federally funded Center for Athletes Rights and Education, and a former defensive end for Notre Dame, he is a nationally recognized scholar who has published extensively in academic journals and presented papers at countless education association conferences. Dr. Sack is the author of *Counterfeit Amateurs: An Athlete's Journey Through the Sixties to the Age of Academic Capitalism* and co-author of *College Athletes for Hire: The Evolution and Legacy of the NCAA's Amateur Myth.*



SEDONA PRINCE, University of Oregon Basketball Player and Activist, Winner of *The Drake Group Presidential Award* for changing the future of college women's basketball. The award honors an extraordinary contribution by an individual who has helped advance the integrity of intercollegiate athletics through an articulate and well-reasoned response to a current event or important issue. The individual, through his or her voice, writings, or other public action has demonstrated informed thought leadership in intercollegiate athletics, toward the end of advancing the integrity of athletics, emphasizing the primacy of educational objectives and/or insisting on responsible fiscal and ethical conduct of intercollegiate athletics as an extracurricular enterprise.



JESSICA JURCEK – University of Minnesota – Twin Cities, Winner of *The Drake Group Student Journalism Prize for Investigative Reporting on Intercollegiate Athletics* for "The consequences of cutting indoor track..." The Prize recognizes the print, video, or multimedia work of a graduate or undergraduate college student journalist for exceptional substantive investigative reporting on intercollegiate athletics.



THE SHIRLEY POVICH CENTER
FOR SPORTS JOURNALISM
THE HOWARD CENTER
FOR INVESTIGATIVE JOURNALISM

The Drake Group Student Journalism Prize for Investigative Reporting on Intercollegiate Athletics to STUDENT JOURNALISTS, Shirley Povich Center for Sports Journalism and the Howard Center for Investigative Journalism at the University of Maryland Philip Merrill College of Journalism for "Unlevel Playing Fields." Ben Curtis, Kassidy McDonald, Iman Hassan, Kara Newhouse, Amanda Hernandez, Emily Riley, Colleen Neel, Alexandra Gopin, Jacob Richman, Molly Welby, Joe Lotano, Lauren Rosh, Emily Williams, Katie Manganelli, Jaelyn Watson, Amelia Jarecke, Tatyana Monnay, Molly Castle Work, Ashkan Motamedi.